Announcement: Important for families with children 3-18 years old with I/DD

SCDD announces the start of the Child Family Survey (CFS) Cycle when we ask families to provide input that will help Department of Developmental Services (DDS) prioritize quality improvement initiatives and determine policy direction in California for people with Intellectual/ Developmental Disabilities.

State Council on Developmental Disabilities (SCDD) is mailing surveys to families with children 3-18 years old, living at home and receiving at least one regional center funded service other than case management. This survey happens only once every 3 years. We hope you will contribute your voice to prioritize the direction of California’s policies and the quality of services provided to your child and others living in California.

You may have already received your survey.  Please complete all or part of the survey and return the survey in the postage paid envelope provided within 10 days of receipt or as soon as possible, or enter your responses directly on-line using the survey code included in the paper survey mailed to you.  Responses are grouped so your name and the name of your child is not included in any of the reports.

Through the mail or on-line, LET YOUR VOICE BE HEARD and tell Department of Developmental Services (DDS) about issues important to you.

If you have any questions, please email QAProject@scdd.ca.gov or call 714.558.4421

 Quality Assessment Project

In 2010, The State Council on Developmental Disabilities, in cooperation with The Department of Developmental Services and Human Services Research Institute (HSRI), joined 26 other states in conducting quality assessment interviews using the nationally recognized National Core Indicators (NCI) assessment tool.

The core indicators are standard measures used across states to assess the outcomes of services provided to individuals and families. Indicators address key areas of concern including employment, rights, service planning, community inclusion, choice, and health and safety.

The Council collects data across the state of California through face to face interviews with adult consumers, as well as through surveys mailed to families of children and adults with developmental disabilties.

The responses to these surveys help California identify essential changes necessary to improve the quality of the service delivery system at a statewide and local level.

View 8 things the NCI told us in 2014-2015

View NCI reports analyzing the collective responses from past data collection periods. 

View NCI reports for each Regional Center


Additional Resources:


Notice:  The In Person Survey Cycle has ended and we are no longer contracting Interviewers

Contact QA Project

Quality Assessment Coordinators

Regional Office QA Coordinator Telephone Email Assigned Regional Centers
North Coast Office
505 S. State Street
Ukiah, CA 95482
» » Map
Deborah Kindley (707) 725-5929 deborah.kindley@scdd.ca.gov Alta
Far Northern
North Bay
Redwood Coast
Bay Area Office
1515 Clay Street, Suite 300
Oakland, CA 94612
» » Map

Ron Usac

Angel Wiley

(510) 286-0439

ron.usac@scdd.ca.gov

angel.wiley@scdd.ca.gov

East Bay
Golden Gate
San Andres
North Valley Office
2529 March Lane, Suite 105
Stockton, CA 95207
» » Map
George Lewis (209) 473-6930 george.lewis@scdd.ca.gov Central Valley
Kern
Valley Mountain
Los Angeles Office
411 N. Central Ave., Suite 620
Glendale, CA 91203
» » Map

Melody Goodman

Thomas Hamlett

Jenny Villanueva

(818) 543-4631

melody.goodman@scdd.ca.gov

thomas.hamlett@scdd.ca.gov

jenny.villanueva@scdd.ca.gov

Eastern Los Angeles
Frank D. Lanterman
Harbor
North LA County
San Gabriel/Pomona
South Central LA
Westside
Orange County Office
2000 E. Fourth Street, Suite 115
Santa Ana, CA 92705
» » Map
Vacant, contact
Ruby Villanueva
with any questions
(951) 489-8096 ruby.villanueva@scdd.ca.gov Inland
Tri-Counties
San Diego Imperial Office
8880 Rio Sand Diego Dr., Suite 250
Sand Diego, CA 92108
» » Map
Nancy Dow (619) 688-4233 nancy.dow@scdd.ca.gov Orange County
San Diego
Headquarters SCDD
3831 North Freeway Blvd., Suite 125
Sacramento, CA 95834
» » Map
Ruby Villanueva
Project Manager
(951) 489-8096 ruby.villanueva@scdd.ca.gov
Headquarters SCDD
3831 North Freeway Blvd., Suite 125
Sacramento, CA 95834
» » Map
Douglas Sale
Deputy Director
(916) 263-8114 Douglas.Sale@scdd.ca.gov